About Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan (officially, the Kyrgyz Republic), is a lush and mountainous country in the heart of Asia – and also, one of the region’s few democracies.

With a population of approximately six million composed of a swirl of diverse peoples, including the titular ethnic group of the Kyrgyz and prominent populations of Russians, Uzbeks and Chinese, Kyrgyzstan is a veritable tapestry of languages and belief systems, ranging from ancient shamanism to Orthodox Christianity to Sufi Islam.

Formerly a member-state of the Union of Soviet Social Republics (the Soviet Union), Kyrgyzstan also has a unique history, having made an enormous leap from nomadism and agriculture in the nineteenth century to urbanism, industry and the knowledge economy during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

© 2017 DIT, AUCA. All rights reserved.